Environmental ScienceThis research guide will provide you with starting points for finding information on environmental chemistry, ecology, and environmental analysis and management. |
Other relevant guides: |
| For more information contact Irene Caleb, Liaison Librarian for the School of Applied Sciences. |
Background information
Find definitions and background information using a selection of dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks and introductory textbooks available online and in our Library's collection.
- Aerosols handbook: measurement, dosimetry, and health effects via NANOnetBASE
- Blackwell's Concise Encyclopedia of Ecology, online via netLibrary
- Coopers comprehensive environmental desk reference, online via Knovel, REF 363.7 C776, Swanston
- Dictionary of water and waste management, REF 628.103 S642, Carlton, Swanston
- A dictionary of ecology, REF 577.03 D554, Swanston, Bundoora, Carlton for loan
- Dictionary of environment & ecology, REF 333.703 C699, Bundoora
- Dictionary of environmental science and technology, 333.7203 P843, Swanston, Carlton
- Encyclopedia of Coastal Science
- Encyclopedia of environmental science and engineering
- Encyclopedia of geochemistry
- Encyclopedia of hydrology and water resources, REF 551.4803 E56, Swanston
- Encyclopedia of soil science
- Encyclopedia of toxicology and searchable from Reference Works in Science Direct
- The environment encyclopedia and directory 2005, REF 333.703 E56, Carlton
- The Facts on File dictionary of ecology and the environment, REF 577.03 B155, Swanston, Carlton
- Guidebook to environmental indicators (PDF) (http://www.csiro.au/csiro/envind/env_ind.pdf)
- Handbook of chemical technology and pollution control, 660 H685, Swanston
- Kirk-Othmer encyclopedia of chemical technology, online via Wiley, REF 660.03 E56, Swanston, Bundoora
- Macmillan dictionary of the Australian environment, 333.70994 M167, Swanston
- McGraw-Hill encyclopedia of science and technology, REF 503 M147, Swanston, Carlton, Bundoora
- Soil and environmental science dictionary, REF 631.403 S683, Swanston
- Standard handbook of environmental science, health and technology, REF 363.7 S785, Swanston
- Ullmann's encyclopedia of industrial chemistry via Wiley Interscience, REF 660.03 U41, Swanston, Bundoora
- Van Nostrand's scientific encyclopedia, REF 503 V269, Swanston
- See also Dictionaries, encyclopedias and more (http://www.rmit.edu.au/library/reference/dictionaries/)
Books, audiovisual and journals
Use the
Library catalogue when searching for books, audiovisual material
and journal names. If you see
button in the catalogue record, click on it to link to an electronic
version of the title. Help is available on
how to make the most of our catalogue. To check other libraries,
use Libraries Australia.
Browse the catalogue records using subject headings
- Air - pollution - -
- Aerosols
- Biological monitoring
- Bioremediation
- Chemistry, Analytic
- Earth sciences
- Ecological surveys
- Ecology
- Ecology - Australia
- Environmental chemistry
- Environmental degradation - -
- Environmental science
- Environmental toxicology
- Freshwater ecology
- Groundwater - -
- Pollutants - -
- Pollution
- Pollution - environmental aspects
- Salinity - -
- Sampling
- Soil ecology
- Soil pollution
- Soils - environmental aspects
- Trace analysis
- Water - pollution
Browse the shelves using call numbers
- Pollution: 363.73 - -
- Chemistry: 540
- Geochemistry: 551.9
- Biology: 570
- Rainforests: 574.52642
- Ecology : 574.5, 577
- Forest ecology: 577.3
- Plants: 580
- Animals: 590
- Environmental toxicology: 615.902
- Soils: 631.43
- Forests and forestry: 634.9
Suggested e-books
- ENVIROnetBASE - a large collection of full-text handbooks covering a wide range of environmental topics. Categories include Ecology, Environmental & Ecological Risk Assessment, and Environmental Chemistry & Toxicology, Titles include:
- KNOVEL - collection of e-books. Categories under Environment include General References, Pollution Control & Prevention, Remediation & Waste Treatment, and Water Treatment & Quality. Titles include:
- NetLibrary provides access to e-books purchased by RMIT Library. Some CSIRO published titles are included. The library holds a large collection of CSIRO print titles. To locate these do a keyword search on csiro in the library catalogue.
- RSC Books - a collection of more than 700 chemical science books published by the Royal Society of Chemistry. Titles include:
- Wiley Interscience - A collection of full-text e-books covering science and technology. Subscribed titles include:
Suggested audiovisual titles
- After the goldrush, (DVD), AV 622.18409953 A258,
Swanston
Four Corners program on the Ok Tedi mine. - Applying environmental science: a land rehabilitation case study, (Videorecording), AV 333.7153 A652, Carlton
- Arid inland, (Videorecording), AV 577.54 A698, Carlton
- Australia's amazing mangroves, (Videorecording) AV 577.698 A938, Carlton
- The Bay, (CD-ROM), AVC 363.7394 B357, Swanston, Carlton.
An ecological management game from Melbourne Water/CSIRO. - Biological seat-belts, (Videorecording) AV 333.9516 B615, Carlton
- The blue planet, (DVD), AV 578.77 B658, Swanston
- Catalyst on TVNews (Informit) Within the database click on Titles to select the series.
- The ecosystem, (Videorecording), AV 570 O93, Carlton
- Fate of the forests, (Videorecording), AV 574.5264209946 F252, Bundoora
- Five ways to save the world (DVD) AV 363.73874 F565, Swanston, Bundoora
- The living planet, (DVD), AV 508 A883, Swanston
- Muddy waters: life & death on the Great Barrier Reef, (Videorecording), AV 557.7270994 M943, Swanston
- Nature of Australia, (Videorecording) AV 508.94 N285, Swanston, Bundoora
- The planet (DVD) AV 363.73874 P712, Swanston
- Preserving the legacy series, (Videorecording), Author Browse search on the library catalogue on: INTELECOM, eg. Introduction to waste stream management; Water; Pollution prevention: clearing the air.
- Rainforest : the amazing world within, (Videorecording), AV 574.5264209943 R156.T5, Bundoora
- Reclaiming our earth, (Videorecording) AV 631.4160994 R299, Carlton, Bundoora
- Secret world: the river red gum, (Videorecording), AV 574.526420994 S446, Bundoora
- Something in the air, (Videorecording), AV 363.730994 S696, Swanston, Bundoora
- Salinity (DVD), AV 631.4160994 S165 Swanston, Bundoora
- The salty country, (Videorecording), AV 631.416 S179, Swanston, Bundoora
- Rachel Carson's Silent spring, (Videorecording), AV 632.95 C321 Swanston
- Water: the drop of life, (Videorecording), AV 553.7 W324, Bundoora, Swanston
- See also Audiovisual collection in the Library (http://www.rmit.edu.au/library/av/)
Suggested journals and e-journals
- Australian journal of soil research
- Clean air and environmental quality, PER 628.53 C623 v.31, no.2(May 1997) - , Swanston
- Ecos, PER 500 E19, Swanston, Bundoora, Carlton
- Environmental chemistry
- Journal of the Air & Waste Management Association, PER 628.53 A298.1 v.40, no.1(Jan.1990) -, Swanston
- Marine & freshwater research , PER 574.92 A938 v.46, no.1(1995) - , Swanston
- Waste management and environment, PER 363.72805 W323.m v.1, no.1(Nov.1989) -, Swanston
- Nature , PER 500 N285 v.127(1931)-, Swanston
- Science, PER 500 S416.2 v.151(1966)-v.306, no.5705(24 Dec.2004), Swanston v.251(1991) - v.306(2004), Bundoora
- Water : official journal of the Australian Water and Wastewater Association, PER 628.1 W324 v.1 (1974) - v.25 (1998); v.30, no.1 (Feb 2003) -, Swanston
- Water environment & technology , PER 628.168 W3 v.1, no.1(Sept.1989) -, Swanston
- Wildlife research
-
Springer Link - over 160 journals in the Earth and Environmental
Science online library, including:
- Environmental chemistry letters
- Journal of chemical ecology
- Water, air and soil pollution, PER 628.168 W324 v.1 no.1 (Nov. 1971) - v.150, no.1/4 (Nov.2003), Swanston
- Wetlands ecology and management
-
Science Direct
Over 100 journals in the Environmental Sciences category, including:- Advances in environmental research
- Chemosphere, PER 574.5 C517 v.1, no.1 (Jan.1972) - v.17, no.2 (Feb.1988), Swanston
- Desalination
- Environmental pollution, PER 304 E60 v.43, no.1 (Jan.1987) - v.111, no.3 (2000), Swanston
- Wiley InterScience - Categories include Earth & Environmental Science and Life Sciences-Ecology. Wiley publishes Austral ecology
- ACS (American Chemical Society) journals - 29 full text journals from the American Chemical Society, including: Environmental science & technology, PER 301.31 E61 v.4 (1970) - v.34, no.24 (2000), Swanston
- RSC (Royal Society of Chemistry) journals - Access to over 20 journals and other periodicals published by the RSC, inc. Energy & Environmental Science and Green Chemistry
Databases
Databases give subject access to information
found in journals, conference papers, newspapers, reports and other
publications. Some databases provide the full text of publications online,
others only index journals or provide summaries of the articles. In
many cases you can link to the full text by clicking on the
button.
Access: The databases listed below are available to RMIT students
and staff on and off campus. (NDS login and password are required for
remote access.
More databases can be found on
Search it.
Key databases for this subject
-
Informit Online - major source for Australian information.
Databases relevant to environmental science include:
- Environmental Abstracts (EVA) - bibliographic database
produced by the EPA Victoria Library.
Subject coverage includes air pollution and quality, salinity, hazardous wastes, recycling, waste management and disposal, water pollution, environmental assessment, and pollution control. - Agriculture and Natural Resources Online - the ANR-Index (formerly ABOA and Streamline), is an Australian bibliographic database which covers all aspects of land, vegetation and water resources including urban water, wastewater and irrigation.
- APAFT: Australian Public Affairs Full Text (Informit)
Contains full text of major Australian journals and magazines. - Informit eLibrary Collections
- Environmental Abstracts (EVA) - bibliographic database
produced by the EPA Victoria Library.
-
CSA Illumina - follow the Specific Databases link to select
those relevant to environmental sciences.
- Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management - a collection of 14 databases. Coverage includes scientific journals, conference proceedings, reports, books and government publications.
- Aqualine is not included in the Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management collection. Select this for topics relating to water resources, water and wastewater treatment, water pollution.
- TOXLINE (CSA) - topics covered include: Air pollution; Environmental chemicals and pollutants; Mutagenicity Pesticides and herbicides
Other recommended databases
- Science Journals (Proquest) - General coverage of all aspects of science and technology.
- Scopus - Multidisciplinary database. Coverage includes over 14 000 peer reviewed journals in the physical, life and health sciences. Cited reference searching from 1996.
- ECOTOX Database (http://www.epa.gov/ecotox/) - EPA's database of chemical toxicity data for aquatic and terrestrial life. 'References' lists the journal articles, reports etc from which the data was obtained.
- Agricola - Index to the literature of agriculture and allied disciplines from the US National Agriculture Library.
Contents Page Services
Contents page services add the contents pages from thousands of journals to their databases on a daily basis. These databases allow you to register and then set up a "journal alert" in which the the latest contents pages of specified journals are emailed to you. It is also possible to set up a "search alert" in which a search is run on a regular basis and the results emailed to you. Other databases may provide a similar service, look out for links to "Alerts" or "My Profile" on the database welcome page.
To set up journal alerts, select My Journal List from the drop down box at the top of the page. To set up a search alert, do your search then select Search History, then Save History.News
- New Scientist - select the Science Direct option for up-to-date full text access to the magazine
- Science Daily - online magazine and Web portal devoted to science, technology, and medicine.
-
Proquest ANZ Newsstand Full-text newspapers and
newswires from Australia and New Zealand. Browse issues or
keyword search for topics.
Factiva provides full-text access to major Australian and international newspapers. - TVNews (Informit) Access to Australian TV news and documentary series. Within the database click on Titles to view a list of the programs available.
- See also our guide to News and newspapers (http://www.rmit.edu.au/library/reference/news/)
Reports, guidelines, test methods and data
- DEH Publications (http://www.environment.gov.au/about/publications/index.html) including Inland Waters; Atmosphere; Human Settlements.
- Natural Resource Management and Primary Industries Ministerials Councils: Publications (http://www.mincos.gov.au/publications)
- Online EPA Publication Catalogue (http://www.epa.vic.gov.au/Publications/)
- Environmental Test Methods and Guidelines (http://www.epa.gov/epahome/Standards.html) from the U.S. EPA
- NSCEP/NEPIS - EPA's Gateway to Free Digital and Paper Publications
- Science Accelerator (http://www.scienceaccelerator.gov/) Information resources made available by the Office of Scientific and Technical Information (OSTI), U.S. Department of Energy, including the Energy Citations Database.
- NTIS (http://www.ntis.gov/) - the largest central resource for government-funded scientific and technical information.
Quick facts
- The Australian environment directory: a comprehensive guide to the environment sector in Australia, REF 333.720994 A938, Carlton
- Australian natural resources atlas (http://www.anra.gov.au/)
- National Pollutant Inventory (http://www.npi.gov.au/) - Australia's national database of pollutant emissions, searchable by postcode.
- EPA: Substance Registry System (http://www.epa.gov/srs/)
- EPA/OPPT Chemical Fact Sheets (http://www.epa.gov/opptintr/chemfact/)
- IPCS INCHEM - Pesticide Data Sheets (http://www.inchem.org/pages/pds.html)
- MSDS plus CHEMINFO on CCOHS Web Information Service MSDS (Material Safety Data Sheets) for chemical products and more detailed information on common workplace chemicals.
- Get MSDS.com (http://www.ilpi.com/msds/index.html) provides an FAQ on Material Safety Datasheets and lists 100 sites for MSDS and other chemical safety information. The list is organised by category - General Sites, Government and Non-Profit Sites, Chemical Manufacturers and Suppliers, Pesticides and Fertilizers, and Miscellaneous.
-
AusStats provides access to all Australian Bureau of Statistics
Publications
- Reports are also available in print, REF 319.4 A938, Business and Swanston
- Census data (CLIB'91 & '96) available from standalone terminals in Bundoora, Business and Swanston
Standards
- Australian Standards Online contains the full text of all current Australian Standards and draft Australian standards to which Standards Australia holds the copyright. ISO and IEC standards are also indexed, but the full text is not available online.
- Annual book of ASTM standards, REF 620.112 A512, Swanston
Legal resources
- Austlii (http://www.austlii.edu.au) contains current versions of Commonwealth and Victorian legislation.
- Legislation Administered by EPA Victoria (http://www.epa.vic.gov.au/Publications/Legislation/)
- Legislation - Department of the Environment and Heritage (http://www.deh.gov.au/about/legislation.html)
- Environmental law in Australia, 344.94046 B329, Swanston, Carlton
- See also our guide to Law and legislation (http://www.rmit.edu.au/library/law/)
Theses
- Dissertations and Theses Full Text (Proquest) - Dissertations Abstracts file from 1861 and full-text downloads available for dissertations from 1997 onwards. Mainly US.
- ADT: Australian Digital Theses Program - a developing national database of digitised PhD and Masters by Research theses. All disciplines are represented with growth of all areas expected in the future. 1999-
- Libraries Australia - this national catalogue includes theses and dissertations since the late 1980s. Not full text.
- Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (http://www.ndltd.org/serviceproviders/scirus-etd-search) - an international database of theses and dissertations. A List of participating universities (http://www.ndltd.org/about/members/ndltd-members) is available.
- Index to theses with abstracts (Great Britain and Ireland) - Index only.
- Theses Canada - some online full text is available. A much larger number of theses from the 55 contributing Canadian universities is available through Document Delivery.
- See also our guide on Identifying and obtaining thesis (http://www.rmit.edu.au/library/guides/thesis/)
Patents
- Australian Patents
- IP Australia (http://www.ipaustralia.gov.au/)
- AU Published Patent Data Searching (http://apa.hpa.com.au:8080/ipapa/asearch) - searchable database of Australian published patents. Links to full text where available.
- Patsearch (http://pericles.ipaustralia.gov.au/ols/searching/patsearch/search_page.jsp) - Australian patent applications. Full text unavailable.
- United States Patent and Trademark Office (http://www.uspto.gov) - searchable database of US patents with full text of both published patents and patent applications provided in TIFF format.
- Europe’s Network of Patent Databases (http://ep.espacenet.com) - provides access to published patent documents from three databases: the EP (European Patent Office) database, the WIPO (World Intellectual Property Organization) database and the worldwide database (72 different countries and regions). English titles and abstracts are provided for non-English language patents. Full text provided in pdf format.
Search engines and open archives
Google Scholar - Searches scholarly publications from university,
government and academic publisher sites. The Google Scholar link provided
here authenticates you as an RMIT user and so also provides access to
a range of RMIT-subscribed e-journals.
Scirus - A comprehensive
science-specific search engine. It includes e-print archives,
scientists' home pages and institutional repositories.
OAIster Search -
International union catalogue of freely available,
difficult-to-access, academically-oriented digital resources.
Australian Research Online
is a search engine for Australian digital repositories.
Websites of interest
- Victoria: Department of Sustainability and Environment (DSE) (http://www.dse.vic.gov.au/)
- CSIRO: Environment (http://www.csiro.au/csiro/channel/ich2q,,.html)
- Environment Protection and Heritage Council (http://www.ephc.gov.au/)
- Environment Victoria (http://www.envict.org.au/index.php)
- Parks Victoria (http://www.parkweb.vic.gov.au/)
- Landcare Australia (http://www.landcareonline.com/)
- Natural Heritage Trust (http://www.nht.gov.au/)
- Australian Conservation Foundation (ACF) (http://www.acfonline.org.au/)
- Australian Marine Conservation Society (http://www.amcs.org.au/)
- Friends of the Earth Australia (http://www.foe.org.au/)
- Wetland Care Australia (http://www.wetlandcare.com.au/)
- Wildlife Preservation Society (http://www.wpsa.org.au/)
Subject gateways
- Victorian Resources Online (http://www.dpi.vic.gov.au/dpi/vro/vrosite.nsf/pages/vrohome)
- Australia's Environmental Portal Home Page (http://www.environment.gov.au/index.html)
- GESource Geography and Environment Gateway (http://www.gesource.ac.uk/)
- Global Change Master Directory (http://gcmd.gsfc.nasa.gov/)
- Science.gov A gateway to over 50 million pages of science information provided by U.S. government agencies, including research and development results.
Doing Research
To locate the latest books on assignment writing and research try searching the Library catalogue using the following subject headings: Study Skills, Report Writing, Technical Writing, Research, Research - Methodology, Dissertations Academic, Dissertations Academic - Authorship, Academic Writing, Authorship - Style Manuals.
- Assignment and thesis writing, 808.02 A547, Brunswick, Bundoora, Business, Swanston
- From research to manuscript : a guide to scientific writing, 808.0665 K19, Bundoora
- Guide to the successful thesis and dissertation, online via netLibrary, or 808.02 M447, Bundoora, Bundoora East, Swanston
- The hand of science : academic writing and its rewards, 808.0665 C947, Bundoora, Swanston
- How to write and illustrate a scientific paper, 808.0665 G982, Bundoora, Swanston
- How to write & publish a scientific paper, 808.0665 D274, Bundoora, Swanston
- Introduction to research methods, 370.78 B967, Bundoora, Business, Swanston
- Practical research : planning and design, 001.42 L484, Bundoora, Business, Carlton, Swanston
- Practical research methods, online via netLibrary, or 001.42 D272, Bundoora, Business, Swanston
- The research student's guide to success, 808.02 C957, Bundoora, Swanston
- Scientific papers and presentations, 501.4 D263, Bundoora, Swanston
- Starting research : an introduction to academic research and dissertation writing, 808.066 P923, Bundoora, Swanston
- Your research project : a step-by-step guide for the first-time researcher, 808.02 W211, Bundoora, Swanston
- Style manual for authors, editors and printers, 808.02 S938, guide to the Harvard style available in general and reference (REF) collections at all Libraries
- See also:
- How to reference your sources (http://www.rmit.edu.au/library/info-trek/referencing/)
- How to do a literature review (http://www.rmit.edu.au/library/info-trek/litreview/)
- EndNote (bibliographic management tool) (http://www.rmit.edu.au/library/endnote/)
- Staying current with your research (http://www.rmit.edu.au/library/guides/research)
- Learn how to research in the Library and on the Internet with the InfoTrek tutorial (http://www.rmit.edu.au/library/info-trek/).